Sectoral Committees: Political Parties Maintain Some Members as Consultations Continue

Political Party whips have presented the new leadership to sectoral committees of Parliament and its membership.

Sectoral committees are departmentally related committees in accordance with Rules 187 and 188 of the rules of procedure, whose composition is determined at the start of each new session.

Unlike in past sessions, several committee leaders have been dropped in the new reshuffle. While tabling the position of the ruling NRM with majority slots, the Government Chief Whip, Hamson Obua, informed the house of ongoing consultations to fill the gaps left by the missing names of chairpersons and their deputies for the various committees.