Five New Teams from Three New Countries will Compete in the 2024 Basketball Africa League Season, which is Set to Tip off on March 9 in South Africa.

The Basketball Africa League (BAL) today announced that five new teams and three new countries are among the 12 club teams from 12 African countries that will compete in the 2024 BAL season which will tip off on Saturday, March 9 at SunBet Arena in Pretoria, South Africa.  The fourth BAL season will feature a record 48 games in Pretoria; Cairo, Egypt; Dakar, Senegal; and Kigali, Rwanda, marking the first BAL games in South Africa and the first time the league will play games in four different countries.

The 12 teams have been divided into three conferences of four teams each.  Seven of the teams have competed in the BAL before, two of which – Petro de Luanda (Angola) and US Monastir (Tunisia) – will be competing for a record fourth season.  Five teams are making their BAL debut, including the first BAL teams from Burundi, Central African Republic and Libya

Cape Town Tigers (South Africa) Al Ahly (Egypt) Armée Patriotique Rwandaise Basketball (APR; Rwanda)*
Dynamo Basketball Club (Burundi)* Al Ahly Ly (Libya)* AS Douanes (Senegal)
FUS Rabat Basketball (Morocco)* Bangui Sporting Club (Central African Republic)* Rivers Hoopers (Nigeria)
Petro de Luanda (Angola) City Oilers (Uganda) US Monastir (Tunisia)
*First-time BAL participant
Each conference will play a 12-game group phase during which each team will face the other three teams in its conference twice.  New this season, the home team in each market will play on every gameday, including on the weekends.  The inaugural Kalahari Conference group phase will take place from Saturday, March 9 – Sunday, March 17 at the SunBet Arena.  The Nile Conference group phase will take place from Friday, April 19 – Saturday, April 27 at Hassan Mostafa Indoor Sports Complex in Cairo.  The Sahara Conference group phase will take place from Saturday, May 4 – Sunday, May 12 at the Dakar Arena in Dakar.  The top two teams from each conference and the top two third-place teams from across the three conferences will travel to BK Arena in Kigali for four seeding games followed by an eight-game, single-elimination Playoffs and Finals from Friday, May 24 – Saturday, June 1.  

In the season opener, first-time BAL participant FUS Rabat Basketball (Morocco) will face Petro de Luanda at 4:00 p.m. CAT.  In the second game, home team Cape Town Tigers (South Africa) will take on first-time BAL participant Dynamo Basketball Club (Burundi) at 7:00 p.m. CAT.  On the opening day of the Nile Conference, home team Al Ahly (Egypt) will begin its title defense against two-time BAL participant City Oilers (Uganda) at 5:00 p.m. GMT.