Electricity Access Scale-Up Project(EASP)’s Steering Committee Sworn-in

The Electricity Access Scale-Up Project (EASP)’s Steering Committee, composed of 19 members, was sworn in by Dr Ruth Nankabirwa Ssentamu, Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, on August 14. The ceremony took place at the Ministry headquarters at Amber House in Kampala.

Minister Nankabirwa commended the appointees for joining the EASP’s Steering Committee, emphasising its crucial role in realising the National Development Plan (NDP) III, Uganda’s Vision 2040, and Sustainable Development Goal (SDG7) for universal clean energy by 2030.

Dr Nankabirwa urged the Committee to achieve EASP’s goal of expanding energy access to households, businesses, industrial parks, and public institutions while maintaining transparency and efficiency.

The Project Steering Committee comprises representatives from key government entities chaired by MEMD’s Permanent Secretary, Ms. Irene Bateebe. Their responsibilities encompass strategic guidance, project oversight, compliance, budget review, and monitoring of environmental and social issues.

Committee members committed to confidentiality in discharging their duties, only sharing matters with permission from the president.

Additional members sworn in include representatives from the Ministries of Energy and Mineral Development (MEMD); Finance, Planning and Economic Development; Water and Environment; Education and Sports; Health; Local Government; and the Uganda Energy Credit Company.

The EASP, supported by World Bank funding of $638 million, aims to increase energy access for households, enterprises, and institutions through grid and off-grid connections, aligning with Uganda’s Vision 2040, NDP II and III, and SDG 7 for universal energy access by 2030